Membership of the Guild is a corporate one, where the individual representing any organisation may change from time to time with the agreement of the Master and First Committee. There are approximately forty companies and ten charitable trusts in membership at present, all represented by a senior executive, as well as a number of personal members. All members are called Guardians.

Membership is by invitation of the First Committee who may invite any former Guardian who is Past Master or who has rendered other significant services to the Guild, to be a personal member. Honorary Membership may be granted by the First Committee to a person distinguished in any field consistent with the Aims of the Guild.


The Officers, with exception of the Master, are elected each year by the Guardians at the AGM in November. The Master Elect when so elected shall assume the office of Master the following year. The Officers of the Guild are:

The Master (Vanessa Moon)
Immediate Past Master (Simon Prescott)
Master Elect (Jon Press)
Senior Guardian (Bill Marshall)
Hon Treasurer (Joe Scaife)
Minute Secretary (Bill Marshall)


The Guild is managed by an executive committee known as the First Committee, which consists of the Officers and up to four co-opted members, including two Past Masters:

Keith Bonham
John Hollingdale
Jane Oakland 

Master of the Guild of Guardians 2019/2020, Vanessa Moon

Members of The Guild of Guardians are entitled to an exclusive 50% discount on room hire rates Monday – Friday. For more information please contact us on 0117 903 1460 or



David Clark (Honorary Life Member)

Member Organisation (a to z) Representative Guardian
Alder King Simon Price
Alec French Architects Nigel Dyke
Alexandra Workwear Martin Lyne
Amarelle Mark Colfer
Arcadis Richard Bonner
At Bristol Donna Speed
Barratt Homes Simon Gilbert
Barton Wilmore Simon Prescott
Bishop Fleming LLP Joe Scaife
Blaise Commercial Finance Aled Morris
Bristol & Bath Regional Capital Edward Rowberry
Bristol Charities Anne Anketell
Bristol International Airport Simon Earles
Bristol Port Company John Chaplin
Bristol & West of England China Bureau Dianne Francombe
Bristol Zoological Society Justin Morris
Burges Salmon Patrick Robinson
Capita Property & Infrastructure Andrew Lintern
City of Bristol College Andy Forbes
Churngold Construction Limited Ross Ancell
Corrigan Associates Edward Corrigan
DAC Beachcroft LLP  
Ferguson Brown Limited Helen Crawford
Grant Thornton Tim Lincon
JBP Associates Limited Steve Anderson-Dixon
Jelf Group PLC Chris Jelf
Keith Pople Limited David Pople
Kendall Kingscott Jon Press
Lloyds Bank Limited Alex Mackie
Local Pages Dan Bernard-Hayklan
Moon Consulting Vanessa Moon
Osborne Clarke Colin Stratton
Quartet Community Foundation Sue Turner
RSM Hywel Pegler
Saffery Champness Richard Cartwright
Smith & Williamson John Davies
Space Engineering Services Ltd Charles Murphy
SS Great Britain Matthew Tanner
St Peter’s Hospice Frank Noble
The Society of Merchant Venturers Caroline Duckworth
Thrings LLP Jane Oakland
TLT LLP Andrew Glynn
Treasure Homes Limited David Gillespie
Tristan Fitzgerald Associates Dan Angell
University of the West of England William Marshall
Veale Wasbrough Vizards Kellie Thatcher


Personal Members

  Derek Bond  
  Keith  Bonham  
  Chris Carwardine  
  Steve Eggington  
  Peter Ferguson  
  Bill Harding 
  Nigel Hardy
  John Hollingdale  
  Michael Kent  
  James Myatt  
  Martin Whife